Cold Spring Fire Company No. 1 bio picture

Welcome to Cold Spring Fire Co. No 1

The Cold Spring Fire Company No. 1 is located in the Village of Cold Spring, Putnam County New York.  We proudly protect 3500 people living in an area of 5 square miles.  We operate out of a headquarters located at 154 Main Street that protects a primarily residential area. Our department is a public department whose members are on a volunteer status.  We have an ISO rating of 5.

The Cold Spring Fire Company has a total of 125 men and woman and are led by Chief Matt Steltz and President Michael Bowman.  We respond on approximately 150 calls per year providing fire protection to the residents of the Villages of Cold Spring, Nelsonville and the Philipstown/Cold Spring Fire District. For information on joining, call the Firehouse at 845-265-9241 or email at:


CSFC Annual Meeting and Company Election

Tuesday night, December 6th, members of the Cold Spring Fire Company #1 assembled in the Company meeting room for their Annual Meeting and Company Election. Father Brian McSweeney of Our Lady of Loretto led off the meeting with an appeal to Saint Florian, patron Saint of Firefighters, for protection and good fortunes for the year ahead. Following the benediction, the membership of the Fire Company voted to elect it’s new slate of officers, then moved onto their end of year business. Near the conclusion of the meeting the Fire Company stood to recognize 25 year member, former Chief, President and Board Member (and current Village of Cold Spring Trustee) J Ralph Falloon. Also recognized were three 50 year life members Father John Mills, Sam Sunday Jr. and George Baltich. All three were not in attendance, but Chief Tobin, Chief Steltz, President Bowman and Lieutenant Godsey were able to travel to the home of Father Mills later in the evening to present him with his plaque.

Business then turned to the annual selection and recognition of Firefighter of the Year. This award is given out each year to recognize a firefighter who goes above and beyond on the fireground, around the firehouse and who brings honor to the Company. This years recipient was Thomas Valentine, who according to Chief Steltz has been an asset to the Fire Company this year in his duties as Driver, as well as always pitching in around the firehouse, organizing events and providing input on many committees.

Lastly, the Fire Company presented outgoing Chief Chris Tobin with a plaque in recognition of his two years serving as Chief of the Company. Addressing a standing ovation, Chief Tobin credited the professionalism of the Company’s officers with making the past two years successful ones, and pointed to the strong character and leadership skills of incoming Chief Steltz when discussing the bright future of the Company.

With no other business to attend to the meeting was then adjourned.

2012 Officers:

Chief: Matt Steltz
Assistant Chief: Josh DiNardo
Captain: Michael Wojtusiak
1st Lieutenant: Chris Godsey
2nd Lieutenant: Kevin Junjulas
3rd Lieutenant: Anthony Ferrara

President: Michael Bowman
Vice President: John Landolfi
Treasurer: Steve Etta
Financial Secretary: Tom Valentine
Recording Secretary: Lillian Moser

*Interested in volunteering? Fill out an application, stop by on one of our drill nights (every Tuesday @ 7:30pm) or give us a call 265-9241