Cold Spring Fire Company No. 1 bio picture

Welcome to Cold Spring Fire Co. No 1

The Cold Spring Fire Company No. 1 is located in the Village of Cold Spring, Putnam County New York.  We proudly protect 3500 people living in an area of 5 square miles.  We operate out of a headquarters located at 154 Main Street that protects a primarily residential area. Our department is a public department whose members are on a volunteer status.  We have an ISO rating of 5.

The Cold Spring Fire Company has a total of 125 men and woman and are led by Chief Matt Steltz and President Michael Bowman.  We respond on approximately 150 calls per year providing fire protection to the residents of the Villages of Cold Spring, Nelsonville and the Philipstown/Cold Spring Fire District. For information on joining, call the Firehouse at 845-265-9241 or email at:


Yearly Archives: 2011

NYPD Helicopter Unit Rescues West Point Cadets

Many local residents have been inquiring about search lights and a helicopter that was hovering near Storm King Mountain around 2am on Sunday morning.  It seems that two West Point cadets were separated from their unit during a training exercise and had to be air lifted off of the mountain at the height of the […]

View full post »

Cold Spring Fire Company Responds to Car Fire

On Sunday, January 31st at approximately 1pm, the Cold Spring Fire Company was called to respond to a reported vehicle fire on Orchard Street in the Village.  Upon arrival at the station firefighters were advised to “expedite” because of the vehicle’s location to a garage and adjoining structures.  Members of CSFC responded with 2-1 and […]

View full post »

New Year Begins With a Mountain Rescue

At the height of last week’s snow storm the Cold Spring Fire Company (CSFC) and the Philipstown Volunteer Ambulance Corps (PVAC) rescued an injured hiker from high atop Breakneck Ridge. The CSFC received an emergency call at 2 p.m. Friday, Jan. 7.  CSFC President Mike Bowman told that a 20-year-old male had hiked alone […]

View full post »

2011 Elected Officers

At the December Annual Meeting of the Cold Spring Fire Company No. 1 the new slate of officers was elected by the company membership. The new lineup: Chief: Chris Tobin Assistant Chief: Matt Steltz Captain: Josh DiNardo 1st Lt: Vacant 2nd Lt: Mark Ford 3rd Lt: Michael Wojtusiak Cpt. Fire Police: Wayne Rudolph ————————————————————————————- President: […]

View full post »